The Support for Rural Specialists in Australia (SRSA) Program helps rural communities receive a high standard of care from skilled, supported, and engaged medical specialists.

We run an annual grants program that awards rural, non-GP specialists up to $12,000 to access high quality CPD and networking that suits their individual needs.

We recognise the unique scope and value of rural medical practice and also provide online learning on relevant topics and themes.


The SRSA Program is funded by the Australian Government Department of Health and Aged Care.


The SRSA Program is managed by the Council of Presidents of Medical Colleges (CPMC). The CPMC ensures that the program meets the needs of the diverse range of rural medical specialists, and responds to evolving educational and regulatory standards.

A subcommittee of the CPMC oversees program implementation. It has representation from rural specialists, the specialist medical colleges, and the Department of Health and Aged Care.